Photopresent 

Hello Friends,


My mind has been in a bit of a tizzy lately. Starting hospital placement 2 weeks ago has opened my mind,eyes and heart to things I have never experienced before.  I have been finding it quite hard to detached myself and switch off from it all. 

I think most people have this problem from time to time and something I’ve learnt that helps me to ground myself is taking photos. This is know as photo presense  (term coined by Matthew Johnstone in Capturing mindfulness).  It’s the idea that by stopping to take a photo you are 100 % in the moment. You are not thinking about yesterday’s trauma or tomorrow’s uncertainty but rather fully committed to capturing what is right in front of you.


It is something I would defiantly recommend to anyone who is experiencing an over active mind. I went to one of the most beautiful places ever, the Portrane – Donabate Cliff walk and began clicking away with my I- Phone and DSLR camera and I felt extremely calm and peaceful. I really do believe that when life gets abit messy one of the best things to do is to get out of the house and into the fresh air. 


‘With all its sham,drudgery  and broken dreams,it is still a beautiful world,strive to be happy’

-K

Leave a comment