Come ski with me

Hey friends,

I’ve recently returned from my college ski trip. I had never been before so I was excited yet anxious about what to expect (and pack). Worry ye not past Kate and future ski trip takers as I am here to pass on some basis advice about my trip, advice which I would have wanted to knowing before I’d gone.

Rule one; get some form of lessons. The pizza and chips logic got us where we needed to go for the week. Youtube it or I will personally show you on demand, anytime, anywhere.

Rule two; dress all the colours of the rainbow so if you go on an off piste adventure for one, someone can spot your little lost butt.

Rule three; if you think you’re about to go off on one of those adventures outlined above… say a prayer and theatrically, with or without sound effects throw your little cute but volatile rainbow self on the lovely fluffy snow.

Clothing

This is probably the number one thing, beside perishing in an avalanche, that was bothering me about the trip. We went via coach bus so thankfully there wasn’t technically a baggage allowance however we mainly kept it to max 20kg rucksack. Also we were sharing the apartment with others so it was nice not having to store a suitcase. We went for 8 days, 6 of which were skiing days. So I only brought one ski suit i.e. ski pants and ski jacket(borrowed with gratitude) plus my navy puffer which I could wear skiing and at nighttime. It was more than enough. I remember thinking that I needed at least 2-3 ski suits but the one did me just fine. As far as what to wear underneath, layers are your friend. First, I wore a long sleeve t-shift (penny’s eco ones) and leggings (whatever gym ones I already had). Some days I wore an extra thick long sleeve top, days where I was feeling extra vulnerable (and hungover).

Then I wore a fleece, so nice and cosy. I went to regatta after Christmas and got 3 for half price. The 3/4 zip ones are my favourite. Then a hoodie and your ski jacket and skit pants. I bought all my thermal socks from penny’s and they were perfect. Some ski socks were 15 euro per pair. Notions says I. Then I wore waterproof gloves, gotten as a gift but deffo wore investing in some legit gloves. Cold hands=cold hearts. I wore a snood over my face most days and then a beanie and your helmet and your goggles and you’re good to glide. Also sunglasses.

Total: I ski jacket. 1 ski pants. 2 beanies. 2 snoods. 6 pairs of leggings and long sleeve t-shirts (deffo change ever day). 6 pairs of socks. 1 pair of high quality waterproof gloves. 3 extra thermal tops. 1 bandana (for comfort, sthyle and also in case you need a impromptu sling or tourniquet… it happens okay, I watch Bear Grylls ).

Nighttime clothing

This was also something that baffled me. We went out most nights during the trip . I wore basically want I’d wear here on a causal night out just minus the bare legs. Jeans and jumpers, skirts and tights. And then I’d wear my puffer jacket over it all. I loved how causal the nightlife was. Literally anything goes, super chill and causal these snowsports gang are and without fear of sounding like a mum it was not a fashion show. Comfort and warmth but then make it fashion. The nightclubs (and my dancing) were red hot so I didn’t go too crazy with the layering at night. I wore my biker boots or superstar runners. They were fine because we walked mainly on paths and walked very quickly.

*when life gives you conjunctivitis go to the club in your glasses*

this was shit shirt night, a rule that some stuck to more than others @zoe^^^

Food and drank

We stopped off at a big supermarket before heading up the mountain and stocked up on the essentials- bread, Nutella, vodka. The usual. At the resort there was a shop too which was handy for anything missed… we ate a lot of bread. Mostly we had breakfast in the apartment and late lunch/ dinner away. The food in the restaurants at the resort was pretty hit and miss so snacks are your friend. In the middle of the week, we had lunch on top of the mountain we were skiing on and it was the most delicious plate of overpriced risotto and creme brûlée I have ever had. I am a firm believer of treating oneself.

I also highly suggest that if the opportunity to eat fondu in a traditional yurt ever presents itself to you, you should take it.

We drank a lot of hot chocolate too, one afternoon we got a €28 bill for 4 delicate but delicious money cups, ah to be young and wild.

We did partake in the odd tipple of a wee alcoholic beverage, vivre le France. Drinking is highly encouraged but none of us skied drunk because c’mon.

Après ski

Skiing usually starts and ends early because of visibility so by about 4:30 pm each day a wonderful phenomenon known as après ski descends. It was so much fun. Everyone is just outside in the open air bar in all their ski gear bopping along to mainstream hip hop as it gets darker and the fairy lights get brighter. We would have few beers at this and then at about 8 head back to the apartment, have dinner ( some bread and pasta combination) and then head out to the clubs at midnight. A nap and shower at some stage is recommended.

Skiing

I’ll admit I was genuinely fearful about going skiing. You hear the horror stories and I am uncoordinated at the best of times never mind on ice. Thankfully we all got away injury free and I genuinely had such a laugh, laughing at myself mostly. I did eventually get the hang of it and felt proud that I gave it a go.

My biggest thank you to everyone who helped me on the slopes especially Megan, Hannah, Molly, Zoe and Eva who became impromptu ski instructors. I felt very vulnerable and outside of my comfort zone skiing so I am extremely grateful that I had these people with me to help, support and encourage.

Also are you really a novice skier if you don’t go back to the shop halfway through the week to ask them to check your skis cos there’s no way you could be THAT terrible?!

I don’t think the winter Olympics is for me but I am really glad that I went and I have never laughed so much. I say I fell 100 times at least but tis not in the falling but in the rising… or something like that.

Life lessons

I suppose it wouldn’t be me if I didn’t add a bit of fluff to the end. I am one walking ball of feelings and metaphors after all. The main thing that I took away from skiing was how mindful it actually is and I understand how people can get addicted to it. You are so acutely aware of your present moment and your mind is fixed on the present. You’re not worried about your phone or last week or exams you are literally just on the top of the mountain trying to get down with your life and relative dignity.

Also, I learned that people are sound and generally want to help and teach others struggling for no other reason then just to be kind and it warmed my heart to see the goodness in others shine through. 99% of the people I met and got to know were golden.

To leave you with an anecdote…

We were heading down a very steep slope… like I mean you couldn’t see over it and we were just expected to blindly ski down it. I knew it was far too advance for me. So myself and my friend decided after almost 15 mins of pure silent struggle that we would say f*ck it and take off our skis and slide down it ourselves on our butts like a slip and slide . Once this happened it started the most beautiful change reaction of other unclipped skiers sliding down behind us in an orderly fashion. We formed a little Congo line of struggle.

What am getting at is the very obvious metaphor presented to us that day ( okay I know it’s all getting abit leaving cert English but stick with me). We all struggle and pretend we’re not. Something destructive that your mind does during a difficult times is that it isolates you and makes you feel like you are the only person in the world who has ever felt this way. Chances are you’re not. We feel immense relief when others admit their struggling because all at once we’re not alone.

Look out for those times in life when you come up against a big cliff or steep edge that you can’t see over and that scares you. Sometimes the wisest and bravest thing to do is unclip your skis, admit you’re scared, grab a friend and slide down it. Give up on the idea of this is how you do things and admit that you need help. We couldn’t change the size of the mountain or the fact that we had to get down it but we didn’t have to do it alone and scared, we could laugh at ourselves. Either way we all ended up at the same place.

I think that if you reach out to others during hard times and can find the humour in any situation then you can survive it. And when you succumb to your humanness it gives other people permission to do the same ( and maybe even form a Congo line behind you).

Bonus tip of the blog:

Stay far far far away from skier/snowboarder/sailor/skateboarder dudes with long hair and an accent that promise you the moon. Cowabuno.

Will I ever learn.

-K

Leave a comment